Feeling so grateful

Wow, you guys.  What a sigh of relief.  I finally got to proclaim “I’M MOVING TO TURKEY!” now a week and a half ago.  The thing that’s been on my mind, in my heart, in my soul –  is finally public, free, and pretty damn glorious.

I thank you all for reacting SO positively to the news.  You’ve helped me take a really (let’s be honest) terrifying situation and your thoughts and cheers and OH MY GODS! have bolstered me.  I’m so lucky to be surrounded by people like you.

It’s funny – I’m in this amazing period in my life right now.  Normally, for me, change is  scary.  Now, to quote one of my favorite movies – Bring It On! I feel like I’m ready for whatever, whenever.  And I feel at once kid-like and more adult than I’ve ever felt.

I can’t stop smiling.  Everyone around me is unique, pretty, and funny.  I was telling my friend Kim last night that I’m just meeting all sorts of great people, and having great interactions lately.  And I wonder, is this just normal, or am I putting this happiness out into the universe and it’s giving it back to me in spades?  Or maybe I’m just not so preoccupied so I’m noticing all sorts of beauty around me.  Either way, I’m giving thanks, and appreciating whatever greater power is helping guide this period in my life.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nonsequiteuse
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 09:16:21

    I cannot wait, and I’m so excited you’ll be blogging about it. Congratulations on your adventure!

    Reply

  2. Jill Carroll
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 19:38:48

    I’ve spent a lot of time in Turkey the last 5 years. The publisher of my last book is in Istanbul and I’ve done lots of speaking engagements all over the country. I cannot express how that country and its people touch my heart. When I first flew into Istanbul, I felt like I was returning or remembering something – even though I’d never been there before and had never even thought about it really. Istanbul is one of my favorite places on the planet – so beautiful, so grand, and so wise. I’m thrilled for you and eager to hear how this goes.

    Reply

    • houstonchick
      Feb 26, 2011 @ 23:34:28

      Thanks, Jill. I felt the same way – and I’ve only been there once. The people are amazing. The sights, the sounds, the smells. We actually went (unintentionally) during Ramazan, but it made our experience even more special. I can’t wait to go back and truly become a part of the community.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

