Visas, Bank Accounts, and Luggage Restrictions, Oh, My!

So, the logistics of moving to a foreign country are, shall we say, daunting.

There’s so much to think about, understand, and yes, to pay for.  I’ve done a bunch of research, asked alot of questions, joined several expat blogs…but now I’m just crossing my fingers and leaving it all up to chance.  I’ve got my passport, some money, and about 30 words of Turkish, and darnit, I’m getting on a plane in under 48 hours.

And of course, there’s shipping a dog,which makes things interesting. Especially the cost.  After many phone conversations with airline cargo reps, I think I’ve finally found a good route for Clover.  Mind you, her flight is only $100 less than mine.  And hers is one-way!  (She’ll stay in Istanbul over Christmas, when I visit home.)  I figure that brand-new $75 crate will make a fine end table once I cover it with some Turkish linen.

I have my laptop, Kindle, my camera and iPod.  And of course chargers for all.  And adapters so I can actually charge them all in a foreign country.  Hopefully without blowing a transformer or something.  What a great way to meet my neighbors!

I have DVDs of some of my favorite shows for when I need some good old American TV.  Arrested Development, Friday Night Lights, Veronica Mars, and West Wing all made the cut.

I have a fold-out map of the world.  Partly so I have something to hang on the wall.  But mostly so I can plan which countries to visit when my visa is about to expire, and I’ll need to leave Turkey in order to re-entry.  Bulgaria, anyone?

I’ll take 2 checked bags (pay for one, of course); one carry-on suitcase and a large tote.  “What, TSA?  This is a purse. Brush up on fashion, please. Duh.”

My townhouse is rented (furnished), my car will go to the vast parking lot of CarMax tomorrow.  You, too, may own a piece of me.

Most of my stuff has been packed, and is enjoying the ambiance of Nicole’s attic.  (Thanks, Nicole!)

But if I think all of this – leaving a job I had for 9+ years, starting and ending a new fabulous job, packing up my life, selling my car, saying “goodbye for now” to my friends is hard? Wow.  I think I’ve got a world of challenges coming my way.  But you know what? I’m going to try my best to welcome it.  Even when I’m frustrated.  And lonely.  And don’t understand the language.

This is about life adventure.  I don’t think it’s supposed to be easy.  But I’m going to do my best to make it fun.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jodycakes
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:49:33

    Go Jess Go!!! Watching and loving you from H-town!!! ALL THE WAY!!!

    Reply

  2. Erin
    May 09, 2011 @ 23:13:10

    After looking at photos of the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul, I have no doubt you will be able to find some glorious fabric in which to cover Clover’s crate & make a fabulous end table. Holy amazing shopping, Batman! (or Batgirl, in your case)

    I am SO excited for you!!!! I hope you & Clover have safe flights. I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Visas, Bank Accounts, and Luggage Restrictions, Oh, My! | Kindle Digest
  4. elaine
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:00:17

    And what an adventure it will be – and you won’t be alone, Clover will always be at your side! And we will be there too in spirit & through Skype & through emails and through Twitter and through Facebook! Bon voyage my friend!

    Reply

  5. Julie
    May 10, 2011 @ 16:54:43

    Be sure to buy all your adapters before you go. Get Apple TV with a US credit card account so you get US content over there just one day after it airs in the US. You can buy the Apple TV box there, but set it up with a US credit card and billing address. It’s been my lifeline – we couldn’t live without it!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

