Get ready for brutal honesty

So, I’ve been (I think) pretty brave about this whole upending my life thing.  Right?

Well, that all went down the tubes as I said goodbye (for now) to my Mom and then sat in the airport by myself (stupid terrorists) for 2+ hours.  I pretty much cried, wanted to throw up, and thought about calling Mom and telling her to come back and pick me up.  Two days later, my stomach is just starting to think about unclenching itself.

I’m still crying some.  Gotta be honest.  I’m surrounded by friendly people in this amazing city but I still feel lonely and disconnected.  But I also knew that would probably happen.

And I’ll keep you updated as I get used to things, and feel a little bit better.  I think this is normal.  And in two days, I should see my friend Teresa from home (she’s vacationing here).  And next week, Victoria is in Istanbul.  It will make me feel great to have a friend from home by my side.

And I’m on my way now to get a cell phone.  This will make me feel more connected.

In the interim, I’m going to keep plodding forward.  Enjoying being here.  And acknowledging that this is all part of the process, and that’s what I chose.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Mathis
    May 13, 2011 @ 06:56:08

    Jessica,

    You are brave. Really! You’ve handled everything so far with much more grace than I have- I’ve been a weepy train wreck for *weeks* now, and we’re not even leaving for another 2 months!

    You’re gonna be just fine; everything from here is going to be adventure (0f the fun kind)!

    Reply

    • houstonchick
      May 13, 2011 @ 15:12:39

      Thanks, Jenn. Whew…things are heavy. But getting better. And I have this incredible support system at home, which helps! (you will too!)

      Reply

  2. Kev
    May 13, 2011 @ 08:26:58

    Hang in there. You’ll be at the Look Back and Laugh stage before you know it. Enjoy now so you can laugh more later.

    Besides… life could be worse:
    “Oh, and remember: next Friday… is Hawaiian shirt day. So, you know, if you want to, go ahead and wear a Hawaiian shirt and jeans.”

    🙂

    Reply

  3. Cathy
    May 13, 2011 @ 08:54:24

    Hang in there! And post pics!

    Reply

  4. Erin
    May 13, 2011 @ 09:04:33

    Once you get more settled, I’m sure things will get easier & you’ll feel more at home there. The beauty of the modern day is that with things like Skype, IM, etc. you’re never really that far away from those you love back home. *BIG HUGS*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

