This isn’t in the tour books, but…

Lovely tombstones.

This cemetery is close to my new house, and I’ve passed it several times, but had never gone in.  Frankly, I wasn’t sure what the “rules” were – was I welcome there?  It’s a Muslim cemetery, and could I go in- at all? Without a scarf?  Take photos, walk around – was there procedure?  When an old lady in a headscarf waved at me, I scooted right in.

It is truly one of the loveliest cemeteries I’ve seen.  The greenery, the birds singing, the flowers!  It seems as if the person is interred, then a plot of dirt is placed on top.  Then flowers, plants, etc., are planted in the earth.  Roses grow like crazy here, so there were truly lovely graves with roses just bursting out of the ground.  Talk about the circle of life!

I loved the bursts of color throughout the plots.

There are these crazy big (I think) ravens here in Istanbul.  They are quite intimidating looking, and must have been Edgar Allan Poe’s inspiration for The Raven. They, of course, live in the cemetery.  They just perch on the tombstones and solemnly watch as you pass.  Very apropos.

What a fantastic resting place.  Or a great place to sit and read – I looked for benches, but didn’t see any.  The cemetery is huge – I only covered a portion of it, but it looks as if there’s a main path that people use regularly as  a short cut.  I think I’ll be doing the same.

"Quoth the raven, 'Nevermore'."

Leave a Reply

